Kristian Jarmuschek

Foto: Clara Wenzel-Theiler
Kristian Jarmuschek

This week’s questionnaire respondant is Kristian Jarmuschek, gallery owner and director of Positions Berlin Art Fair

What are you working on right now?
At the moment my team and I are working flat out on preparations for the seventh edition of Positions Berlin Art Fair, which will be held jointly this year along with the specialised photo basel and Fashion Positions formats. Despite these extraordinary times, we have fantastic artists and galleries participating and are currently at work on the supporting programme. We want it to be as interesting as possible, notwithstanding the COVID-19 pandemic.

What part of your work do you like best, what part do you like least?
I love interacting with people, and of course having the opportunity to experience art up close and watch it take shape. My job is so varied that there actually isn’t anything that I don’t like to do. But what I often find difficult, and what I like least, is when I am unable to implement good ideas.

Who or what has influenced you in your work?
My artists and collectors were a profound influence when I first started working as a gallerist. These days I mostly swap ideas with my team and work closely with them to come up with good concepts and projects. The lucky coincidence of the fall of the Berlin Wall allowed me to discover the world at the right time and to live my life as I see fit. The biggest influences on my work are basically my curiosity and fundamental attitude: If you can concieve of it, then you can also make it happen.

What artwork do you keep coming back to?
I have the immense good fortune of having several artworks in my home. There is no one work of art that I am drawn to or doesn’t let me go. Every time has its work, and I remember many beautiful moments in my life through art.
If I could name just one, it would be ›Las Meninas‹ (1656) by Diego Velázquez. But I don’t see it every day, unfortunately…

What would you do if you had nothing to do with art?
I really can’t imagine. As a child I wanted to be a circus director.

What does your workspace look like?
I appreciate a tidy workspace. We try to use our resources responsibly and work  mostly paperless. So I have a computer on my desk and a notebook next to it—and that’s all I need to be productive, regardless of where I am.

Where do you most like to spend time?
This year it’s on our new roof terrace, our »Roof Top GRDN« above the gallery showroom. I love plants and we’ve made it a green oasis in the middle of the city. I delight in the sea of flowers, fresh herbs, and berries. I also love museums and going to exhibitions. I enjoyed the same things in childhood, by the way. I don’t know why I’m always drawn to those kinds of spaces.

What space would you like to enter sometime?
The being-everywhere-at-once space. Especially during the Berlin Art Week. I would really love to see every contribution and attend every event.

What is your favourite thing to do when you’re alone?
I do crossword puzzles. But don’t tell anyone.

What object enriches your everyday life?
My mobile phone is both a blessing and a curse, of course. But all in all I’d say it’s probably more of an enrichment.

What are you reading at the moment?
›4 3 2 1‹ by Paul Auster. Archibald, the young hero of the novel, lives four times and takes four, cleverly interwoven fictional paths, true to the motto: what would have happened if…? I often wonder what even little changes to certain things, moments, or behaviour would bring about…

What was your last trip before the lockdown? Your first when it lifted?
My last big trip was to Mexico over New Year, and I recently travelled to Venice.

Positions Berlin Art Fair
10—13 SEP 2020
paper positions.berlin
10—13 SEP 2020
With Professional Preview, Academy Positions, Selected Positions, Open Air Positions, photo Basel, award ceremony, exhibitions, and more

You might also like this

Kristian Jarmuschek

Foto: Clara Wenzel-Theiler
Kristian Jarmuschek

Diese Woche antwortet Kristian Jarmuschek, Galerist und Leiter der Positions Berlin Art Fair, auf die Fragen unseres Questionnaires

Woran arbeiten Sie gerade?
Derzeit arbeiten mein Team und ich unter Hochdruck an den Vorbereitungen der siebten Ausgabe der Positions Berlin Art Fair, die in diesem Jahr zusammen mit den Spezialformaten paper positions, photo basel und der Fashion Positions stattfinden wird. Wir haben trotz der besonderen Zeiten fantastische Künstler*innen und Galerien dabei und feilen nun noch unter anderem am Rahmenprogramm, das trotz Corona möglichst spannend ausfallen soll.

Welchen Teil Ihrer Arbeit mögen Sie am liebsten, welchen am wenigsten?
Ich liebe den Kontakt zu Menschen und natürlich die Möglichkeit, Kunst hautnah zu erleben und entstehen zu sehen. Meine Arbeit ist so vielfältig, dass es eigentlich nichts gibt, was ich nicht gerne tue. Was mir aber oft schwerfällt und was ich am wenigsten mag, ist gute Ideen nicht umsetzen zu können.

Wer oder was hat Sie in Ihrer Arbeit beeinflusst?
Zu Beginn meiner Tätigkeit als Galerist haben mich meine Künstler*innen und Sammler*innen stark beeinflusst. Heute ist es vor allem mein Team, mit dem ich mich austausche, gute Ideen und Projekte entwickle. Die glückliche Fügung des Mauerfalls hat mir ermöglicht, zum richtigen Zeitpunkt die Welt zu entdecken und mein Leben frei gestalten zu können. Den größten Einfluss auf meine Arbeit hat im Grunde meine Neugier und die Grundhaltung: Wenn man es denken kann, kann man es auch möglich machen.

Zu welchem Kunstwerk kehren Sie immer wieder zurück?
Ich habe das große Glück, viele Kunstwerke bei mir zu Hause zu haben. Es ist kein spezielles Kunstwerk, das mich anzieht oder nicht loslässt. Jede Zeit hat ihr eigenes Werk, und ich erinnere mich mit der Kunst an viele schöne Momente in meinem Leben.
Wenn ich nur eines nennen dürfte, wäre es ›Las Meninas‹ (1656) von Diego Velázquez. Das habe ich leider nicht jeden Tag vor mir …

Was würden Sie machen, wenn Sie nicht mit Kunst handeln würden?
Das kann ich mir wirklich nicht vorstellen. Als Kind wollte ich Zirkusdirektor werden. 

Wie sieht Ihr Arbeitsplatz aus?
Ich lege Wert auf einen aufgeräumten Arbeitsplatz. Wir versuchen verantwortungsvoll mit unseren Ressourcen umzugehen und deshalb arbeiten wir überwiegend papierlos. Dementsprechend steht auf meinem Schreibtisch ein Computer und daneben liegt ein Notizbuch—mehr brauche ich nicht um gut arbeiten zu können, egal wo.

Wo halten Sie sich am liebsten auf?
In diesem Jahr auf unserer neuen Dachterrasse, unserem »Roof Top GRDN« über dem Ausstellungsraum der Galerie. Ich liebe Pflanzen und wir haben dort eine grüne Oase mitten in der Stadt angelegt. Ich freue mich sehr über das Blütenmeer, frische Kräuter und Beeren. Darüber hinaus liebe ich Museen und gehe gerne in Ausstellungen. Das habe ich übrigens als Kind schone gerne getan und weiß bis heute nicht, warum es mich immer in solche Räume zieht.

Welchen Raum würden Sie gerne mal betreten?
Den Zurgleichenzeitüberallsein-Raum. Gerade während der Berlin Art Week würde ich sehr gerne alle Beiträge besuchen und auf allen Veranstaltungen mit dabei sein.

Was machen Sie am liebsten, wenn Sie allein sind?
Verraten Sie mich nicht: Ich löse Kreuzworträtsel.

Welches Ding bereichert Ihren Alltag?
Natürlich ist mein Mobiltelefon Fluch und Segen—alles in allem aber wohl doch eher eine Bereicherung.

Was lesen Sie gerade?
›4 3 2 1‹ von Paul Auster. In dem Buch kommt der jugendliche Held Archibald gleich viermal vor—in vier raffiniert verwobenen Variationen seines Lebens, ganz nach dem Motto: Was wäre geschehen, wenn …? Oft denke ich, was würde passieren, wenn man manche Dinge, Momente, Verhaltensweisen ein wenig verändern würde …

Ihre letzte Reise vor dem Lockdown? Ihre erste danach?
Die letzte große Reise war über den Jahreswechsel nach Mexiko und vor kurzem bin ich nach Venedig gereist.

Positions Berlin Art Fair
10—13 SEP 2020
paper positions.berlin
10—13 SEP 2020
Mit Professional Preview, Academy Positions, Selected Positions, Open Air Positions, photo Basel, Preisverleihung, Sonderausstellungen und mehr

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen